Back to  Cricket  news
Top 5 Best IPL Finals
May 25, 2023, 11:00:00 PM

Top 5 Best IPL Finals

The so-called "India ka Tyohaar" has entered its final week and has been another thrilling season. With teams fighting to make the top four, the last league match of the season will inevitably be decisive. The Indian Premier League (IPL) has also seen some very tightly contested finals. These closely fought games have shown how the two finalists put everything they had into the competition to ensure they lifted the coveted trophy. Here’s a list of the top 5 nail-biting IPL finals.

MI vs CSK 2019

It isn't rare to witness a thriller when two giants of the IPL lock horns - and this match was no exception. With three IPL titles under the belt for both teams, this was a fight to become the most successful team in the tournament.

Mumbai opted to bat first after winning the toss. The top order stumbled, but Kieron Pollard picked his team up with a quickfire 41 off 25 balls. Mumbai managed to score 149/8 at the end of 20 overs.

The ever-dependable Faf du Plessis gave CSK the fiery start they sought. However, it was all about Shane Watson, who batted despite having a bleeding knee. His heroics made the IPL 2019 final worthwhile!

CSK came close, but Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah got the better of the Chennai batting line-up in the end. Mumbai Indians would come out on top to win the IPL crown for the fourth time.

MI vs RPS 

After a disappointing 2016 season, the Rising Pune Supergiant returned more potent in 2017, led by new captain Steve Smith. They earned a spot in the IPL final by defeating the Mumbai Indians in the first qualifier.

In the final, MI won the toss and elected to bat first. Their top order struggled, but Krunal Pandya scored 47 runs to help them post 129/8.

But as they say, never write MI off. Even after Steve Smith and Ajinkya Rahane's brilliant start, Mumbai managed not to let the game slip out of control. RPS required 11 runs to win off the last over, but Mitchell Johnson's spectacular spell ensured that the Mumbai franchise marched towards victory!


The IPL finals have always enthralled us; the 2016 version was no exception. RCB was unquestionably the favorite to win their first IPL championship, but SRH had other ideas!

​​The SRH top order put up strong performances, allowing them to post a massive total of 208/7. Although RCB were undoubtedly under pressure, they appeared to be on course to chase down the target, thanks to a 100-run partnership between captain Kohli and Chris Gayle. However, once Gayle was dismissed, RCB saw a startling collapse. They eventually fell short by just eight runs, and SRH won the glittering trophy.


CSK was in full swing. They were playing in their fourth straight final and were poised to capture their third straight IPL championship. On the other hand, KKR, appearing in the IPL final for the first time, was comparatively inexperienced.

CSK batted first and finished their allotted 20 overs with a massive total of 190/3. Despite losing their captain, Gautam Gambhir early in the chase, KKR managed to reduce the gap thanks to a partnership of 136 runs between Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis. Kallis led KKR to their first IPL title with a game-winning 69 off 49 deliveries.


The Shane Warne-led Rajasthan Royals won the toss and chose to chase in the 2008 first IPL final. MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina performed magnificently to help CSK reach 163/5.

Yusuf Pathan shined for RR, scoring a scorching 56 off just 39 balls and taking 3 wickets with the ball. With their bowling star Sohail Tanvir at the crease, RR needed 8 runs to win from the final over. Tanvir and Captain Warne helped the team win by three wickets, despite it coming down to the last ball. Rajasthan Royals were crowned the first-ever champions of the Indian Premier League!