Back to  Cricket  news
ICC Teams of the Year
Feb 8, 2023, 10:00:00 PM

ICC Teams of the Year

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently announced the ICC Teams of the Year. This is part of the ICC Awards 2022, and it recognizes the best-combined XIs in men's and women's international cricket from the past year.

The ICC Men's and Women's T20I Teams of the Year, the ICC Men's and Women's ODI Teams of the Year, and the ICC Men's Test Team of the Year were all named over the course of two days. There are players from 11 different countries in the different lineups. Among them are World Cup winners, ICC Players of the Month, and some of the most exciting new players from the past year.

Teams were chosen based on the choices made by the ICC Voting Academy, which is made up of experts from the media. The respected panel chose the players based on how they played throughout the year. They gave each team a number from one to eleven and chose a captain and wicketkeeper for each.

Test Team XI

  1. Usman Khawaja (Aus)

  2. Kraigg Brathwaite (WI)

  3. Marnus Labuschagne (Aus)

  4.  Babar Azam (Pak)

  5. Jonny Bairstow (Eng)

  6. Ben Stokes (c) (Eng)

  7. Rishabh Pant (wk) (Ind)

  8. Pat Cummins (Aus)

  9. Kagiso Rabada (SA)

  10. Nathan Lyon (Aus)

  11. James Anderson (Eng)

The ICC Men's Test Team of the Year is full of great players in the longest version of the game. With a total of 6,988 runs and 198 wickets over the course of the year, there are many great players in the lineup.

Australia did well in Tests for another year, keeping them at the top of the ICC World Test Championship standings. Four of their best players are in this Test XI, including Marnus Labuschagne and Pat Cummins, the best batsman, and bowler in the MRF Tyres ICC Men's Test Rankings, respectively.

Ben Stokes became captain of England in April. He was a big reason England's Test team got back on track. He is the team's captain. James Anderson and Jonny Bairstow, who won the ICC Men's Player of the Month award for June, are also on this team.

This team also has Pakistan's Babar Azam, who scored more Test runs than anyone else in 2022, as well as Nathan Lyon and Kagiso Rabada, who took the most Test wickets in the world in 2022.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year:

  1. Alyssa Healy (wk) (Aus)

  2. Smriti Mandhana (Ind)

  3. Laura Wolvaardt (SA)

  4. Nat Sciver (Eng)

  5. Beth Mooney (Aus)

  6. Harmanpreet Kaur (c) (Ind)

  7. Amelia Kerr (NZ)

  8. Sophie Ecclestone (Eng)

  9. Ayabonga Khaka (SA)

  10. Renuka Singh (Ind)

  11. Shabnim Ismail (SA)

The ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand was full of amazing individual performances and nail-biting last-over drama. Many of the tournament's stars are on the Women's ODI Team of the Year, led by India's influential captain Harmanpreet Kaur.

Australia won the trophy in March, and Beth Mooney and Alyssa Healy named the ICC Player of the Tournament, are both on the Team. Beth Mooney and Alyssa Healy are in the top two of the MRF Tyres ICC Women's ODI Player Rankings for batters.

Laura Wolvaardt had another great year in 2022, scoring more runs than any other batter in ODIs. Her fellow South African Shabnim Ismail, who took the most wickets in ODIs that year, joins her in this prestigious XI.

Other great wicket-takers are also on the Women's ODI Team of the Year. These include India's Renuka Singh, who did well in her first full year of ODI cricket, and England's Sophie Ecclestone, who took the most wickets in New Zealand at the Women's CWC.

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year:

1. Babar Azam (c) (Pak)

2. Travis Head (Aus)

3. Shai Hope (WI)

4. Shreyas Iyer (Ind)

5. Tom Latham (wk) (NZ)

6. Sikandar Raza (Zim)

7. Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Ban)

8. Alzarri Joseph (WI)

9. Mohammed Siraj (Ind)

10. Trent Boult (NZ)

11. Adam Zampa (Aus)

As 2022 is the year of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, the Men's ODI Team of the Year comprises players from the last 12 months of competitive bilateral cricket. Seven countries are represented in the 2022 lineup.

Pakistan's Babar Azam is named captain of the XI for the second year in a row. This is because he scored 679 runs at an incredible average of 84.87, which kept him at the top of the MRF Tyres ICC Men's ODI Player Rankings for batters.

Shreyas Iyer, who has played 17 ODIs for India and scored 724 runs, is on Babar's team. Iyer is India's top run scorer in ODIs. Shai Hope is also in the team because he had another good year for the West Indies and shared three centuries with the captain.

Sikandar Raza of Zimbabwe was another player who hit three hundred. The ICC Men's Player of the Month for August peaked in 2022 when he was ranked the highest among all-rounders.

The bowling line-up has fast bowlers, spin bowlers, and a lot of people who can take wickets. The Men's ODI Team of the Year for 2022 comprises Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammed Siraj, Alzarri Joseph, and Adam Zampa. These four players are known for taking a lot of wickets in ODIs. Trent Boult, a fast bowler from New Zealand, is the best bowler in this format and is ranked number one.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year:

1. Jos Buttler (c) (wk) (Eng)

2. Mohammad Rizwan (Pak)

3. Virat Kohli (Ind)

4. Suryakumar Yadav (Ind)

5. Glenn Phillips (NZ)

6. Sikandar Raza (Zim)

7. Hardik Pandya (Ind)

8. Sam Curran (Eng)

9. Wanindu Hasaranga (SL)

10. Haris Rauf (Pak)

11. Josh Little (Ire)

There are a lot of familiar names on the ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year. Many played in the amazing ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia. Jos Buttler became captain of England in June, and after winning the silverware down under, he was chosen to lead this dream team.

Buttler also bats first with Mohammad Rizwan, who had ten half-centuries last year and came so close to getting 1,000 T20I runs that it hurt. India's Suryakumar Yadav was the only player to reach this mark. During the Men's T20WC, the number-one ranked batter was on fire. Yadav is one of three Indian players in the XI. Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli are also there, and Kohli won the ICC Player of the Month award for October for his great play in the tournament.

Josh Little, a fast bowler who took 39 wickets at an average of 18.92 for Ireland in this format last year, is part of the bowling attack.

Sikandar Raza was a key player for Zimbabwe in Twenty20 Internationals all year, especially in qualifying, and he is one of two expert spinners on the team. Wanindu Hasaranga of Sri Lanka took more wickets than anyone else in the Men's T20WC. Sam Curran of England, the Player of the Match in the Final and the Player of the Tournament rounds out the list of tournament stars.