Back to  Cricket  news
The Border Gavaskar Trophy
Feb 4, 2023, 10:00:00 PM

The Border Gavaskar Trophy

Australia's 2023 tour of India is called IND vs. AUS. LIVE Score: Australia will go to India after six years, and the Border Gavaskar Trophy will be at stake. In February and March 2023, the series will take place. The Men in Blue and the Australians will play each other in 4 Tests and 3 ODIs. Between February 9 and March 13, the Test matches will take place. Nagpur, Hyderabad, Dharamsala, and Ahmedabad are where the Test matches will occur. The ODI leg will start on March 17 and end on March 22. The one-day internationals will be held in Mumbai, Vizag, and Chennai.

The International Cricket Council's Men's Future Tours Programme (FTP) for 2023–2027 says that Australia and India will play two five-match series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, which is part of the ICC World Test Championship, between 2023 and 2027. First, Australia will be India's host from 2023 to 2025, and then India will be Australia's host from 2025 to 2027.


The games have always been very close when the two countries play cricket against each other. Australia wants to beat India in a Test match series in India, which they hadn't done since 1969–70 until they won the series in 2004–05. This makes the series even more important. India has a reputation for being hard to beat at home because they have only lost two Test series since 1986–87. Conversely, India won a Test series in Australia until 2018–19. After that, they kept winning in the 2020–21 series, so they kept the trophy for two series outside of their home country. The fact that India ended Australia's streaks of 16 consecutive Test wins in 2000–01 and 2007–08 shows how competitive the series between the two teams was. In India, matches are often called "the last frontier" or "an iconic event." Steve Waugh called the 2000–2001 Test series in India the "final frontier," and it lived up to its name. 

It was the closest series in decades, and in the last session of the last Test at Chennai, India beat the powerful Australians. The series also gave the cricket world three champions—Hayden, Harbhajan, and Laxman—who were mostly unknown or not doing well before the series. They were the most important parts of the series, and the battles between Laxman and the Australian bowlers on one side and Harbhajan and Hayden on the other are often called the most interesting rivalries between players in a cricket Test series. The series took place after the famous cricket player Sir Donald Bradman died. Bradman was quoted as saying he was looking forward to the series and had high hopes for the tea and the cricket.

The Last Run

The Board of Control for Cricket in India said in an official statement that the next Test series between India and Australia would be the last of the 4-match series.

The BCCI said, "This will also be the last Border-Gavaskar Trophy, a 4-match Test series."

Since 2003/04, when India toured Australia, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 has been a 4-Test contest. The only time it wasn't was in 2010/11 when it was a 2-Test contest. The last time a series had five Tests was in the 1991-1992 season.

The Squad

Rohit Sharma (captain) and KL Rahul (vice-captain). Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Note: Ravindra Jadeja could be on the team only if he is fit.

Australia Test squad for India tour: 

Pat Cummins (capt), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

The Importance

The first Test will start on February 9 in Nagpur, and the second will start on February 17 in Delhi. The third one will start on March 1 in Dharamsala, and the last will start on March 9 in Ahmedabad. India now has the Border-Gavaskar Trophy because they won the 2020-21 series 2-1.

India must also do well in these four Tests to qualify for the World Test Championship final, which will be held at The Oval in London in June.

The Breach of Gabba- A Recap

The fourth Test, which decided the winner, was played at The Gabba in Brisbane. Australia hasn't lost a Test match at this ground in over 32 years, so it's known as "Gabbatoir" or "Fortress Gabba" among cricket fans. To make matters worse for India, more player injuries meant that only two of the eleven players who had played in the first Test in Adelaide could play in the second Test. India had to put out a bowling lineup that had only played in four tests and taken 13 wickets (including two by Rohit Sharma, a part-timer) before this match. This was Nathan Lyon's 100th Test, making him the 13th Australian player to reach that mark. Australia won the toss and chose to bat first. Marnus Labuschagne scored a century as they scored 369 runs in their first innings. India's first-inning score was 336, which gave Australia a lead of 33 runs. Australia's second innings ended when they were bowled out for 294 runs. 

This meant that India had to score 328 runs to win. Even though India was in a tight spot, they could reach the goal with three overs to spare on the last day. They ended with a score of 7/329, enough to win by three wickets and win the series 2–1. [49] This was Australia's first time it lost a Test match at The Gabba since 1988. The last tie was in 2012. Pat Cummins was named Man of the Series, and Rishabh Pant's 89* won the game, so he was named Man of the Match. Based on the results of its global poll, the ICC thinks this series is the best Test match series of all time.